Guest Blog #1

And now a guest spot from Dan Braverman, Better known to the folks in NOLA as Big Al, friend of the undead.

Big Al here again, and this time it’s no more Mister Nice-Zombie! The time for silliness is past, so I will not be mentioning “Dead of Na’vi,” “The Hurl Locker,” “We Are The Werewolf,” or any of the other jokey-type things I blathered about recently, except in this sentence; so you’re past them now. Even though they are brilliant.

Dan Forcey is my friend, and I take offense that some of the comments on this blog have deteriorated into personal attacks. This is entertainment, not war. The producers acquired the rights from Sergio Bonelli, one of the most respected comic book publishers in the world and a man who obviously had enough faith in their ability to interpret Dylan for the screen that he signed on the dotted line. If he’s willing to give us a chance, is it too much to ask that you give us the benefit of the doubt and at least wait till you’ve watched it before ripping it apart?

I haven’t seen any of this movie, except the scenes I shot. And even through my opaque zombie contacts, when I saw the dailies, I was watching some of the best raw footage I had ever been involved with. The make-up effects and set are phenomenal, and Kevin is a very smart director: he cast well and trusted his actors to improvise and put our own spin on our characters. It felt spontaneous and fresh while we were shooting and, believe me: that will come across on the screen. Brandon manages to be cynical and dark while bringing the same understated humanity to Dylan Dog that he brought to Superman, the guy who plays my hunchback (sorry, pal, but I can’t find you in the credits!) is the best (well, also the only) hunchback I’ve ever worked with, and Anita is captivating even though she was a bit blurry to me at the time. Damn those zombie contacts!

I made a lot of friends on “Dead of Night,” including Brandon, Anita and Dan, and have stayed in touch with most of them. I assure you no one is more anxious to see this movie than I am, but I know from experience that getting a movie done right–especially such an ambitious movie as this–is neither easy nor quick. I would like to see it open this Friday, but that ain’t gonna happen. I advise you all to trust Dan Forcey and the whole creative team as I do, and have patience. Whenever DoN opens, it’s going to make an impact. Take my word for it. Zombies don’t lie.

And to the low-life who threatened Dan’s family, I would hunt you down and eat your brain, if you had one.

-Dan “Big Al” Braverman

Thanks, Dan.  Stay tuned for other guest spots from cast and crew.

Cheers,

Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Former Stunt Guy/KMHL (Keeping My Head Low)

13 Responses to “Guest Blog #1”

  1. All I can say is WOW! Awesome post.
    Thanks Dan and Dan.

  2. Vgerland Says:

    Awww, Dan you show so much charm in your speech and writing how can you be so very wise. So glad “Big Al” is such a good guy I am sure DoN is glad to have you on their team.

    I am dying to see the finished movie and I know it will be well worth the wait.

    Thanks for sharing this treat with us DanF and Thanks for writing it DanB

    Vger

  3. Dan,
    Would love to see as a treat: Brandon, Anita or Taye Diggs give their story’s too. Maybe? As Guest #1 Dan starts us off with a high bar to reach over. Lets hope the others can reach that high. “)

  4. Stargazer Says:

    “Brandon manages to be cynical and dark while bringing the same understated humanity to Dylan Dog that he brought to Superman”

    Oh, that’s exactly how I see Dylan. Very interesting, Dan. I really appreciate you sharing this with us crazy fans. :D

    I also can’t wait how Anita does in the role; I saw her in “Journey to the Center of the Earth” and liked her. There is something special about her and her face. Her eyes are very expressive, I think.

    Also looking forward to see Sam Huntington aka Jimmy Olsen as Marcus. Love him.

    And of course, Big Al sounds like a very enigmatic character so far. ;)

  5. Say everthing what have to say now.Great post.

  6. Until we see the trailer we fans of Dylan Dog can only hope this film will carry the essence of the originals from the Sclavi era. Only then can we spread THE WORD :) I don’t doubt the quality of acting, directing, effects, etc. The script is the key (as always in the movie business).

    Can’t wait for the premiere, though.

  7. You’re in late of a month, when we can finally see this movie??? And tell if its a good work or not??

  8. Hey I didn’t wrote the second post – “You’re in late of a month, when we can finally see this movie??? And tell if its a good work or not??”.

    Dan what gives??

    I won’t be posting here, if somebody uses the same alias as me! }:(
    :)

  9. I wasn’t kidding about somebody posting under my alias. I put a smiley at the end of the post so it wouldn’t be an angry post, but I really want an answer. If somebody posts using mu alias, and it can’t be done without an email address…than this here site isn’t safe. And somebody can easily send threatening posts using my email.

    Dan I would really want an answer regarding this. Thanks.

    (No smiley faces now.)

  10. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Xabaras,
    I actually emailed you about this the second I saw it on Tuesday. There are two people on here who use the alias “Xabaras”, coming from two different IP addresses and with two different emails listed. Considering it’s a pretty prominent name in the Dylan mythos, I guess it’s not surprising. I’ll go through today and edit his/her posts to Xabaras2. I would have done that earlier, but I just figured out how.
    -Dan

  11. Xabaras Says:

    I guess you emailed the other Xabaras – the Xabaras 0.2. It’s okay.

    Thanks Dan – YOU THE MAN!

  12. jonnie chitara Says:

    I’m sorry for the same alias

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

