Moving right along…

We’re still making little tweaks here or there, but we held another screening last night (sorry I couldn’t inform anyone about it!) and the audience really, really loved it.  I continue to be more and more proud of the movie as it’s coming together.  We even had some of the effect shots from our partners at Prana Studios (the effects house we’re using) and they look GREAT!!!

I know this is a frustrating time and everyone is dying to see something new from the film (photos, trailers, anything!) but it’s all about the timing right now.  We don’t want to give too much away this far out or else everyone will get excited about something and then have to wait months to see it.  Too soon and we risk those of you who aren’t already on the edge of your seats forgetting about the movie!  However frustrating it is for you guys, it’s ten times more frustrating for us that no one gets to see all the great work we’ve done!

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Former Stunt Guy/FLAEM (Feeling Like An Expectant Mother)

33 Responses to “Moving right along…”

  1. Yay, encouraging news!! And I could NEVER forget about this movie. This really is my most anticipated film for 2010 easily. Me loves me some Brandon Routh!

    Thanks for letting us know about this, Dan. :)

  2. Well,im happy to see the audience enjoying the film.I wanna see this for real hehehe…i hope more news soon, and good luck!

  3. AntoBlueberry Says:

    Prana Studios? The Indian animation company?
    Will the monsters in DoN look like the Chubbchubbs?
    ;P

  4. deadofnightmovie Says:

    No, but I’m pushing them to remove MY “chubbchubb” in the scenes I’m in. Somehow, a digital liposuction seems to be falling to the end of the VFX shots lists, though. :-)

  5. Stargazer Says:

    So, Dan, Are they already working on the comic book adaptation of the movie like you said before?

  6. deadofnightmovie Says:

    We’re still ironing out some details of it with the good folks at Bonelli, but yes, they’re working on it. Can’t rave about the people there enough. They’ve been amazing partners every step of the way on this project. Very supportive, understanding and patient.

  7. Glad to hear everyone loves it! I can’t wait to see the trailer, here’s hoping there’s lots of Anita in it :)

  8. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Thanks for that, Xabaras! I had seen these already, as we’ve been working with Bonelli on them, but I hadn’t realized that they had made images available to the world yet. What does everyone think?

  9. The statue is lovely! And good to hear that they are working on the comic adaptation too!

  10. AntoBlueberry Says:

    It looks great, faithful to the comic-book version, so more Rupert than Brandon.

  11. So… When the trailer will go online?

  12. Caligiostro Says:

    Hello!
    I´m a Dylan Dog-fan from Germany & rather excited about the idea of a “real” Dylan Dog movie (as opposed to the great Dellamorte Dellamore, which is quite a good hint at how a DD movie should be…).

    I am however, as many European fans, quite concerned about the fact that it had to be an American studio which makes the actual movie. There are, after all, several “issues” – not only concerning the visual aspect of the movie – which make me less happy with the expectation of an American version of Dylan Dog.

    So I do have several questions, which I hope you might be able to answer, in order to prove my fears about a blockbusting, “Constantine”-like Dylan Dog wrong (and make me run to my local cinema, when – and if – the movie is shown there…).
    Since I didn´t find any other means of contact on the blog I´ll just put my questions here and hope for answers…

    1) Why does the movie´s plot have to be situated in New Orleans? Is it so expensive to go to the UK to shoot a picture? You could have also gone somewhere in East Europe, to give it a European feel, or meaybe shoot the movie somewhere in New England or Canada and, well, “pretend” it´s London…I know it sounds a bit daft, but what I mean is: why does it have to be set in the US?

    2) In which way do you plan to include the absurd, surrealist and anti-bourgoise elements of the Dylan Dog comics into the movie? Or is it going to be a good ol´asskickin´American tale of the good guys vs. the bad guys? I hope you do know that Tiziano Sclavi, Dylan´s creator is, as Americans like to put it, a “red dupe”, who even does publicly support Italian “Commies”… Or will the “American” Dylan Dog be a defender of the “American Way”, turning from a slightly subversive, “commie-infested” (to put it in an American way ) creation to a true “objectivist” right-wing U.S character who fights “evil” in favour of “freedom” ( many Americans are, for some reason, hysterically afraid of everything that seems “left-wing” or “Marxist”, so they might have a problem with DD…).

    3) Why didn´t you cast Everett for the part of Dylan? Is he to expensive? Well, I sure hope Roth does a good job.
    Of course it´s not like Dylan HAS to be played by Everett – a good actor surely can make the audience forget that he´s not exactly looking like the character he´s playing, but I still think that Everett would have been perfect.

    Well, that was all folks, hope you don´t feel offended by my slightly critical view of American “values”, but for me the main problem of an American version of DD is that U.S. comics and European Comics – especially italian fumetti – have a different socio-political background.
    Over here, in Europe we still have a half-way functioning polticial left, which many artists (slso comic book artists) feel part of and I´m not sure if this somewhat “leftist”, subversive, attitude you can find in many European comics (including DD) can be translated for the American viewership, which is bound to consist mostly of people who actually believe that Ayn Rand was a real philosopher.

    Well, hope you can prove my fears concerning the matter wrong.
    I´ll definatly check out the movie if I can get hold of it!
    Regards!

  13. Please, do you know something about the trailer?

  14. AntoBlueberry Says:

    Last week here in Rome they had the inauguration of Piazza Andrea Pazienza, the square dedicated to one of the best (and sadly late) comic-book creator in Italy.
    The square is decorated with images of the most loved Italian comic-book characters and of course Dylan is among them.
    The square is barely a couple of miles from the place where I live.

  15. Wow, that so cool. Thanks for sharing, Anto.

    I hope the rest of the world soon learns just what a great character Dylan Dog really is.

  16. Thanks for sharing Anto!

  17. kingsean92 Says:

    Hy everyone. i’m from sicily and i’m really looking forward to the film. I have been quite a fan of the dylan dog comics from a long time and i enjoy collecting them as i do reading them. I wanted to know if dead of night will happen to be a sort of sequel to the comics.And is the dylan of the film supposed to be english or american? please reply. keep up the good work.

  18. Just wanted to say HAPPY THANKGIVING to you, Dan, your family, and to all the people involved with this movie! :)

  19. Caligiostro Says:

    Hey!
    Good for you that you don´t care to respond on my questions!
    Okay, I did eventually realize that I wrote “Calgiostro” and “Routh” wrong, but is that really the reason?
    I don´t think so.
    But okay, if you guys don´t give a flying fuck about my remarks & questions, that´s as good as an answer for me…

  20. AntoBlueberry Says:

    The movie is still nowhere to be found in the line-ups of the Italian distributors for the first half of 2010 (and for some the whole 2010).
    I’m getting a bit worried.

  21. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Caligiostro,
    I’m sorry to be so late in responding to you. It’s not that we don’t care, I’ve just been very busy with the recent holiday here in the states and with post production on the film that I haven’t had a whole lot of time to blog. Believe me, I’d rather be answering questions here. I’m sorry that you have felt neglected. To your questions:
    1) The setting was changed for a variety of reasons, most of them ARE unfortunately financial. It’s very, very expensive to shoot in London for many, many reasons. We’ve been trying to make this movie for many years and have been unable to get anyone to commit to the $100M+ budget it would have taken to make the movie in London. Creatively, if we were going to have to keep it in the US for budgetary reasons, we thought New Orleans was the only city in the US that would have the same sense of mystery and the supernatural that London has.
    2) This one is pretty complicated but the best answer I can give you is that we’re all very, very big fans of Mr. Sclavi’s work and would not dream of turning Dylan into any sort of American propaganda. We’ve done our very best to keep him true to the character you all know and love and I hope, when/if you see the movie, that shows.
    3) We all love Mr. Everett’s work, but while Dylan remains in his early 30′s forever in the comics, Mr. Everett is now in his 50′s. He looks great for his age (I hope I look that good when I’m his age) but at the end of the day, the people putting up the money for the movie want to make money on it and possibly create many more movies to come. If we had cast him as the lead, statistics show both of those things would have been a lot more difficult. That being said, I hope you will give Brandon a chance. He’s a very talented actor that I think is going to surprise a lot of people with this role. I knew his work and respected it before this film, but after seeing him in it, I think he’s going to surprise a lot of people with how versatile and charismatic he is here.

    Again, I’m sorry for taking so long to respond. I hope you can forgive me.

    -Dan.

  22. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Anto,
    That’s probably because we haven’t sold it to anyone there yet. :-) We wanted to be able to show the Italian distributors a completed film and we’re still finishing up the special effects. As you can probably attest, Italians are very, very passionate about their Dylan and we wanted to put him in the best light possible before showing our Dylan to them. :-)

    -Dan

  23. AntoBlueberry Says:

    Hi Dan,
    from the article on L’Espresso, I was given the idea that the Italian distribution was already locked and slated for spring 2010.
    So, I suppose you will try to sell it in some markets. Berlin in February?
    Are you submitting the movie to the festival too? I think Cagliostro will be very happy if the movie showed over there first.

  24. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Not yet, Anto. We’ve received several offers, both here in the states and in Italy, but we think we’ve got a really good product that we don’t want to sell on name alone. And the plan from the start has been to premiere the movie in Italy first.

  25. Dan,
    When the movie comes out in Italy, will it be in Italian? I think you once said Brandon did some scenes in Italian (if I remember correctly). I think that the scenes done that way in Brandons real voice and not just subtitles would speak wonders to the Italian people.
    Thanks

  26. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Brandon does speak some Italian in the film but in one of the many nods to comic fans, he intentionally struggles with it a bit. (For those of you who haven’t read the comics in Italian, Dylan doesn’t speak Italian and there are instances where that is a real problem for him.) As far as the movie goes, I hope it will be subtitled, at least that is what I would push for, as I think it’s the best experience as an audience member. At the end of the day, though, that is up to whomever we choose to distribute the film in Italy.

  27. ” As far as the movie goes, I hope it will be subtitled, at least that is what I would push for, as I think it’s the best experience as an audience member.”

    I wholeheartedly agree. I ALWAYS prefer to hear the actors’ real voices.

  28. kingsean92 Says:

    Dan.
    Am i wrong or do you play the role of the giant zombie or whatever his name is?

  29. Caligiostro Says:

    Hi Dan!
    Thanks for the reply.
    Actually I wasn´t aware of the fact that you are the only person from the film team to post here, thought that “Deadofnightmovie” might be some sort of a collective name for several people from the team to write stuff…
    Well, sorry for being rude, by the way, I just wanted to be sure that the people who do a movie on Dylan at least understand the sourse material, by which I don´t mean the language (my Italian is rather poor – I read the German Version) but the essence of the series, the characters and the universe it is set in…
    But it does seem that you guys are quite aware of the source material & its creator, so things still might not be as bad as I thought…
    As for the question of place: I do realize that it is very expensive to do a movie in London (which is generally an expensive city…), but I didn´t know that it makes a big difference wether you film in the U.S. or, say, Ireland or some other place in Europe.
    Concerning Actors it is of course mostly important that Dylan is played by someone who understands the character. The fact that the character is modeled after Everett makes the choice seemingly obvious, but if Routh is a good actor (haven´t seen much of his work) it really shouldn´t matter – the essence of acting is to convince the audience that you´re someone else, after all…
    Well, one way or the other I hope that the movie turns out as good as the comic and that it makes more people read the original comic books, so that the series might gain the world-wide popularity it deserves!

  30. deadofnightmovie Says:

    No, Kingsean92, I’m not the giant zombie. That is a very talented creature actor named Brian Steele. You can check out more of Brian’s work here: http://www.creatureboy.com. Chances are, you’ve seen him in lots of stuff, but never with his real face. Heck of a nice guy, too.

  31. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Thanks, Caligiostro. And no offense taken. I like the fact that people are so passionate about Dylan. Just hope I’m showing that we’re very passionate about him, too. :-)

  32. Hello from Bosnia!

    I am a huge fan of Dylan and Bonelli comics. I just have a one question – where is the Groucho?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

