The Long-Awaited Comic-Con Post

Alright, folks, sorry you had to wait so long for this but here, finally, is my report on Comic-Con.  So the Thursday morning of our panel, I woke up early and went to join the rest of the Platinum crew to offer my help and was quickly drafted into service that I thought would only be hauling a few boxes but turned into a full day’s worth of work.  (Sometimes it stinks to be a nerd who is in shape.  People will take advantage of you.)  So after hauling several hundred pounds of posters from our hotel to the convention center I was already drenched in sweat and it was only 9am.

At this point, I got re-introduced to all the great journalists that I had met down in New Orleans.  You see, we were kind of piggy-backing on someone else’s panel, although there was a very strong and logical connection there.  The panel was actually called “Masters of the Web” and it featured some of the best web journalists around.  Guys like Robert Sanchez (www.iesb.net), Ryan Rotten (www.shocktilyoudrop.com), Jeremy Smith (www.aintitcoolnews.com) and many others (sorry, guys, can’t name you all).   Most of the panel had been invited down to be zombies on the set of Dead of Night a few months before.   So, in a way, the entire panel featured our “cast”.

Anyway, after a great discussion by the guys about web journalism that occurred as I handed out posters to people walking in (Yeah, not sure how that became my job, either.  Just the guy who can’t say no.) which Kevin moderated, they finally introduced the rest of the cast of Dead of Night, including Brandon, Sam, and Anita and producers Gil Adler and Scott Mitchell Rosenberg.  Lot’s of flash bulbs went off for a few minutes and then they settled in for a few questions.  The first one was a bit of a shocker where someone from the audience asked about Anita’s rumored relationship with Megan Fox.  Strangely, it wasn’t a rumor I had ever heard before, and I’ve got about 7 zillion Google Alerts, autosearches, and about everything else under the sun for everyone included on this film and I’ve never heard anything about that.  Don’t know how I missed that one.  The following questions ranged from people wondering why we had made certain changes to a really nice one about Brandon’s and Sam’s friendship.

Then we showed a bit of footage which left the standing-room-only panel room exploding with applause.  I actually was amazed at how well the footage got a reaction from people.  I mean, I was pretty sure it was good, but I’m a little too close to know whether or not others are going to think so.  I think from that reaction that people are going to be happy with it.  (And I’m working every day to get the Powers That Be to release the footage for me to post it here.)

Then we made our way into a separate press room where 7 or 8 journalists were invited in for a more private Q&A.  Included were folks from some great Italian publications, so the questions were pretty hard hitting and direct, but I’m pretty sure even the Italian journalists left that room with a picture of people who care about and understand the property and really want nothing more than to make a movie people will enjoy.  I won’t scoop the reporters by posting any questions they might have asked, but I’ll sure as heck post their articles the moment they are available.

Finally, our day ended with an autograph signing by Brandon, Kevin, Sam, Anita, Gil and Scott in the main autograph hall.  There was a line a mile long the waiting for us when we got there.  As you may remember, they were only signing Dead of Night posters, which, unfortunately, left some fans a little disappointed but it was a decision that was beyond our control.  Still, a lot of fun was had by all, I think.  It was really nice to see the whole gang interact with the fans, posing for pictures, joking around, asking questions.  It was hands down the friendliest, most relaxed signing I had ever witnessed.  It felt more like people who had know each other for years getting together than a bunch of strangers looking for autographed.  I think we have just THAT cool and down-to-earth a cast, but, like I said earlier, I’m pretty close to all this.

Overall, it was a fun, fun day.  Was really nice to see everybody again.  I think my favorite moment had to have been when I was getting Brandon, Sam, and Anita out from amongst the chaos after the panel and they, all three almost simultaneously, realized that this security guy who was shuffling them along was me.  As if almost rehearsed, I got a “Dan, what are you doing here?” from each one of them.

Now I want to hear from who else was there.  Any good stories from those of you that made it to the Con?

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Former Stunt Guy/PTS (Part Time Security)

11 Responses to “The Long-Awaited Comic-Con Post”

  1. Vgerland Says:

    Well, I would have loved to have been there but alas I was not. Thanks so much for sharing your recollections with us. I await the articles. BTW I had never heard that thing about Anita’s rumored relationship with Megan Fox either until I either read about the question or saw it on a blog or something.(??) Most likely some fanboy posted his dream or a joke and it got picked up by someone else then another till it was suppose to be a fact. That is about how that whole “direct to DVD” rumor got started a couple of months ago.

    Again thanks Dan, I am sure you are appreciated for you many talents. We appreciate what you do here.

    Now when is that other site going to be up and fully running? ;) (Sorry, just couldn’t help myself)

  2. My wife an I got to Con on Thursday morning around 9am but didn’t find parking till closer to 930 then we booked it to the doors, and saw the absurd line to pick up our lanyard and pass.

    We were in the line for a half hour or more, so by the time we were shoved through this door and that, and made our way back around to the exhibit hall heading toward the escalators to the meeting rooms upstairs, it was like 10:20am. So we gave up and turned back.

    Of the three panels I had on my list that I wanted to see I only got to see one… Sad.

    But besides not getting to see everything I wanted, for my first San Diego Con it was a blast.

    Now I am anxious to see the footage put up on the web of what was shown at con.

  3. Geez, I really hope we get to see that footage soon! It’s never bad to start getting fans hyped for a movie as quickly as you can.

  4. I was at that panel! And I got that poster (signed!). I didn’t realize it was you handing them out – it was the first panel of the a.m. and of the weekend, so I was still in a daze until about 10 minutes after the panel started. Great panel though. One of my favorite of the weekend, in fact.

  5. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Awww, Tess. I feel so unloved. :-(

    Guess I’m not that world famous face that I think I am.
    ;-)

  6. Dan,
    Did you attend the Wrath of Con or is that for another post.
    Boogy

  7. Or maybe we can get some stories of what happened at the other Panel you attended and what you saw if you got a chance to walk around?
    Thanks

  8. deadofnightmovie Says:

    That’s for another post. Part 2 of my Comic-Con coverage. Coming soon… :-)

  9. Dan is THE MASTERMIND of all film industry… ;)

  10. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I don’t know about that, Xabaras. More like Slave Boy. :-)

  11. Stargazer Says:

    “More like Slave Boy.”

    Dunno why but that sounds kinda wrong.. ;) LOL!

    Well, FINALLY, Nice report, Dan! :) And THANK YOU SO MUCH for ALL your hard work and dedication to this proyect. Like I said before, you’re a miracle worker.

    “I actually was amazed at how well the footage got a reaction from people. I mean, I was pretty sure it was good, but I’m a little too close to know whether or not others are going to think so. I think from that reaction that people are going to be happy with it.”

    That’s great and Very encouraging! I wanna see the movie footage SOON. :( I’m so curious about it, haha. It’d also be nice to see some pics from the event.. including pics of you, Dan. :D

    “Finally, our day ended with an autograph signing by Brandon, Kevin, Sam, Anita, Gil and Scott in the main autograph hall. There was a line a mile long the waiting for us when we got there.”

    Wow, that sounds like a lot of people! How long did the signing last? It must be really hard and tiring to sign your name so many times. Oh, the price of fame. :D

    “Now I want to hear from who else was there. Any good stories from those of you that made it to the Con?”

    Yeah, me too.. Anyone?

    Again, thank you for taking your time to talk to us the online fans and for letting us know what’s going on. I appreciate it so much. God bless and live long and prosper. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

