Being too easy

I originally entitled this post “Being Too Talented” but the moment I typed it, I realized it sounded like the most egotistical thing ever and was really not what I meant.  I’m easy.  Don’t tell my wife, but I am.  Well, I guess she knows because she constantly tells me I’m too easy.  And not in a “slip a drink in my hand and I’m yours, big boy” kind of way.  In a “ask me to do something and I’ll do it, even if it means giving little things like sleep” kind of way.  In the past 72 hours, I’ve:

A) Spent most of the weekend working with the editor on the footage we’ll be preparing at Comic-Con.

B)  Arranged passes for actors from our movie that decided at the last minute to be on the panel.

C)  Coordinated interviews for Brandon and Sam and others at places like the SyFy Channel, La Repubblica, CBR, and others.

D)  Been asked to speak on another panel for a totally different project

E)What else?  Oh, yeah, there’s that whole development “day job” think where I’m trying to set up our next big movie.  That little thing.

It’s very crazy times.  Are there people who’s job it is to do most of this?  Sure, but they don’t know the project, the actors, or the convention crowds enough to know what’s going to work and who is important and how to navigate the politics of it all as well as I do.  Classic case of “If you want a job done right…”  Well, not even “right”, more “the best way it can be”.  Still, it would be nice to get some of that sleep stuff sometime soon.

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Former Stunt Guy/Publicist/Editor/Assistant/IAEYWA (Insert Anything Else You Want Apparently)

11 Responses to “Being too easy”

  1. A) Spent most of the weekend working with the editor on the footage we’ll be preparing at Comic-Con.

    B) Arranged passes for actors from our movie that decided at the last minute to be on the panel.

    C) Coordinated interviews for Brandon and Sam and others at places like the SyFy Channel, La Repubblica, CBR, and others.

    Oh, wow! You’ve been busy! Who are your new panelists? I wish I could be there to see the footage! **Cries** I can’t tell you how excited I am to see this movie. Will the interviews that Brandon and Sam will be doing for Syfy Channel, et al be posted on the web for us to see? **Crosses fingers** I am so jealous of anyone who is able to see this panel! :-)

  2. Vgerland Says:

    Well I just hope those people appreciate the hard work you do on their behalf. I know what it is like and how very tiring it can be when you end up doing everyone elses job because you can do it better and quicker. It can get really old if people don’t step up or if they continue to take advantage of you.

    Speaking of that, I seem to remember when this blog started a whole lot of people were listed as future contributors. Yet is seems to have been left to you. Just so you know we readers here appreciate all your hard work for this blog. :D

    On the other hand, I hope you let us know when the interviews will be shown. ;D

  3. Stargazer Says:

    It sounds to me like you’re a multy-talented man and a miracle worker, Dan. Platinum Studios are so lucky to have you. :)

    Is it Thursday yet? Can’t wait to see the movie footage and to hear all about the event! Good luck, guys!

  4. deadofnightmovie Says:

    It’s really not multi-talented, it’s just being a sucker who always says yes. :-)

  5. Stargazer Says:

    maybe is the economy? :p LOL

  6. RouthFan1 Says:

    Holy Canoli!!! Sounds like a busy guy but busy in an exciting way, I can only imagine what that type of work is like!

    I wish I could be there in California, sounds like a really interesting time, if you’re ever going to be doing any of that in Atlanta, me know!

    Well, I hope all goes well, it seems that it will be successful and a very intersting film, really am looking forward to the release, any idea when that may be? Before 2010? What can I say, I’m impatient. One of my many faults.

    Regardless, being “easy” and not being able to say no just means you’re a glutton for punishment like others of us out there who’ve got the same issue….just in far less glamorous venues.

  7. AntoBlueberry Says:

    Is this the other big project?

    http://www.variety.com/article/VR1118006321.html?categoryid=13&cs=1

    Or were you referring to “Cowboys and Aliens”?

  8. deadofnightmovie Says:

    That’s one of them, Anto. Not the one I was referring to, but something that HAS been taking up a lot of time, too.

  9. I say your talking Witchblade. You once mentioned going to Australia where Witchblade is scheduled to be filmed. But that is good news on Magdalena. Will you be at the Top Cow booth this year as we get the good gossip (and I dont think it was a new director) on these films?

  10. deadofnightmovie Says:

    It’s actually not Witchblade, either, although I’m working hard on that one, too. It has something to do with the great guys over at Vanguard Animation, where I’m speaking on their panel on Saturday.

  11. Aughhh, illegal Aliens, or as they probally now call it “Chupacabras” as their picture shows. Will we get lucky and see a clip? Have loads of fun. You are overdue . “)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

