What now?

Sorry I’ve been MIA for the last week, folks.  I got back from New Orleans only to find I needed immediate oral surgery.  Won’t go into the gory details, but it wasn’t fun and didn’t leave me with a lot of “umph” to want to do much but lie there in pain.  I know, kind of breaks the whole “tough stuntman” image, eh?  Not that those who know me really ever had that image, mind you…  :-)

So where do we go from here?  The cameras are done rolling, the costumes have been boxed up, and my own elbows and knee-pads are put away.  What’s next?  Surely it’s just a matter of doing a little editing and then we’ve got a movie.  Week or so, right?

Not exactly.  Now things really start happening.  Sure, the fun part is done, or at least what I consider the fun part, but now things start rolling on two major fronts.  The first one is that Kevin and our editor, Paul Hirsch, have to basically lock themselves in an editing bay for the next six months,  pouring through two months of footage and connecting the dots while working with the music and sound department to make sure everything fits together seamlessly.  (If you don’t know Paul, don’t be embarrassed.  I didn’t either.  But I DO know a little film he won an Oscar for back in 1978 and quite a few movies he’s done since sit in my DVD collection.  Bragging rights to whomever names the film first.)

The second front we’ll get rolling on soon is the major PR and Marketing push for the film.  One of the reasons my hands have been kind of tied here is that the PR/Marketing Machine that’s been lined up for the film has been waiting until we lock down a release date before they start barraging you with photos, clips, etc.  They don’t want to start releasing things too early or people will lose interest in the film before we get close to the actual release.  I know I’m not talking to the Dylan fans or Brandon fans or Dan Forcey fans (Hi, Mom!) out there, as you’ll all go see it regardless and be just as excited if you see a clip now as if you saw it two months ago.  (Well, maybe not my fan club, as she…ahem…I mean THEY find movies “just too loud these days”.)

So I’ll be keeping you all up to date on what’s happening on both fronts as well as sharing some stories from the set now that all is said and done.  Rest assured, oral surgery aside, this will remain THE place for all Dead of Night news.

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Former Stunt Guy/TT (Temporarily Toothless)

12 Responses to “What now?”

  1. Vgerland Says:

    Ha ha I had to look it up but – Star Wars for film editing. Yea for getting such an awesome editor for the job.

    Glad to hear you have recovered from you oral surgery. Not pleasant I know.

    Now onto the good stuff. We Brandon Routh fans are ready for some stories from the set. Feel free to barrange us half to death with whatever you have. We can take it. Believe me, we are FREE marketing tools just waiting to be put to work. ;)

  2. Betty Lou Says:

    And the answer is… Star Wars!

    Dan, keep up the great blog :-}

  3. Stargazer Says:

    Aw, Dan, you’re so funny! You would make a fantastic Groucho/Felix! And count me as one of your fans too. :)

    “They don’t want to start releasing things too early or people will lose interest in the film before we get close to the actual release.”

    That makes sense to me. Good strategy. I’ll try to be patient, haha. :)

    “So I’ll be keeping you all up to date on what’s happening on both fronts as well as sharing some stories from the set now that all is said and done. Rest assured, oral surgery aside, this will remain THE place for all Dead of Night news.”

    Please, do. We Brandon/Dylan fans want to know it all! Thanks for all your work, great humor and dedication, Dan. Have a great summer!

  4. Paul Hirsch won his award for his work on Star Wars.

  5. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I think Vgerland was the winner. You have total bragging rights, Vger!

  6. Stargazer Says:

    “Ha ha I had to look it up but – Star Wars for film editing. Yea for getting such an awesome editor for the job.”

    “I think Vgerland was the winner. You have total bragging rights, Vger!”

    Well, that sounds pretty awesome!

  7. Vgerland Says:

    Bragging rights huh. Well at least ‘having no real life’ counts for something . I recently retired and I am still trying to figure out what to do with all this free time. Checking this blog about 10 million times a day helps…a little. :O

    You update, I will be here.

  8. AntoBlueberry Says:

    Well, in the meanwhile you could start telling us a few things about the release dates, distributors and stuff like that…
    Great to read that such a great editor is working on the movie.

  9. RouthFan1 Says:

    Yeah, Vger; was just going to say when you’re retired, you’ve got the time!

    Anyway, thanks again, also absolutely LOVE behind the scenes things especially with editing and sound. Mostly sound, orchestrations fascinate me and was something as a child I had wanted to do as a gig; part of a scoring orchestra (still play violin, just not a pro) and I am fascinated with how it comes together.

    Sorry about the teeth, dental surgery’s the pits. ROFL w/ mom comment, I’m sure there are many more fans than just mom! And BTW Vger is right, us Brandon fans are pretty persistant and don’t really tire of the stuff. Trust us on that.

  10. Whatever you do make sure you protect those fingers Dan, we don’t want to miss any updates…

  11. How many days was the shoot officially?

  12. indagatore dell´ incubo Kobisnica Says:

    Dan,
    I think we can hardly wait to see the poster and the TRAILER!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

