Creature Comforts

A lot of you lately have been asking about the various monsters that have been talked about around the web, so I wanted to discuss them a bit.  Now, I’m no expert when it comes to prosthetics, other than having worn them a bunch during my previous stunt life.  (Or maybe it’s “revived stunt life” now?  Not sure how to phrase that.)  Having said that, I think everybody will be as amazed as I am by what the good people at DRAC are doing on this film.

Kevin’s vision from the onset was to avoid CGI (Computer Generated Imagery for the non-moviespeak people like myself) as much as possible.  I’m paraphrasing heavily, but an early conversation I had with him went something like this:

“I think when people see completely CGI characters on screen, it stops them from caring about the characters.  Who worries about video game characters?  Dylan, at his core, is a very real and grounded character and we want that to be reflected in the “monsters” he encounters.”

And he’s stuck to that.  99.9% of what you will eventually see on film is being done practically with prosthetics and creature suits.  Think Hellboy much more than The Hulk.  It makes our job on the stunt team a little more difficult, as it’s really tough to do some things when you’re wearing black contact lenses, but I think it’s one of the many things that will set this movie apart in the end.  You can check out DRAC’s credits and reel here: www.dracstudios.com for a taste of what you will be getting.

Now if you could all only see how cool I look as a vampire!!!!  (And I’m not a very cool person to begin with, so you KNOW they’re good.)

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Stuntguy/PTC (Part Time Creature)

7 Responses to “Creature Comforts”

  1. Good to read that.
    Less cgi more old fashion make up style!

  2. Vgerland Says:

    Are you trying to kill us with anticipation? This movie is getting harder and harder to wait for with the news you are giving us. Wow!

  3. Stargazer Says:

    Great stuff. I loved Bram Storker’s Dracula; the creatures were definitely done very, very well.

  4. RouthFan1 Says:

    I just hope you guys don’t go overboard with all of the makeup and prosthetics. My personal opinion was on Pirates of the Caribean 2nd and 3rd film they went too overboard on the characters, CGI etc with the “creatures” and it just left me feeling flat. I don’t think it’s a bad thing, I just think it can be over the top, too much and just becomes a bit rediculous. Others may disagree, that’s just how I feel about it.

  5. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I don’t think there’s any danger of us being over the top, RouthFan1. For one thing, Pirates 2 and 3 combined cost about $500 million to make (much of that for visual effects and creature builds) and, while our budget is respectable, it’s not quite in that league. For another thing, the guys at DRAC are very much “actors’ makeup technicians”. They’re very conscious of making their work look good, but also allowing the actors to function and have as much expressiveness and versatility as they would if they weren’t in any sort of makeup. I think that shows in stuff like Dracula and Benjamin Button and I know it shows up on set, having been under their watchful care multiple times already.

  6. Indagatore dell´ incubo [Kobisnica] Says:

    I appreciate to see more “old school” effects in Dylan´s first cinema adventure. A little bit of CGI should not be a problem – a little bit. :)

  7. less CGI = more quality!!!
    old school fx rule all the way down… just ask Rob Bottin’s THING!!! :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

