A Brief Explanation…

A lot of you have been asking why we simply can’t give you a photo of Brandon in costume and that’s a pretty darn good question.  Would seem like a simple thing, right?  Just snap a photo and put it up, right?  Thousands of people do it every day, right?  Well, in the film world it’s not that simple.  The only person allowed to take pictures on set is the still photographer.  Cameras are strictly forbidden and can get you fired.  Once the still photographer uploads them to the unit publicist (the person who coordinates all press for the film) who has to pick, choose and approve which ones will be used.  This person now has to get approval from the actors’ publicists, the director and the producers.  Do you know how hard it is to get that many people to agree on anything?  It’s not an easy job.

And why does it have to be such a process?  Well, nobody wants the wrong thing to go out.  And not because we’re trying to hide anything or be secret or anything, we just want people to get excited by seeing the right things.  If you have been reading the comments on here, you probably noticed someone talking about a review of a script and how upset they were that we had changed so much.  Understandably upset, but they were reading a review of a script that was three years old.  Can you imagine if we released a picture of Brandon rehearsing wearing a blue shirt and that got out?  People would be setting fire to the theatres before we could explain anything.  Or if you had one of the vampires halfway through makeup, not looking good yet?  People would think our makeup people were hacks when they’re actually quite brilliant.  A seemingly innocent photo can cause big problems, especially in the lighting fast speed of the Internet.

But none of that has anything to do with why you haven’t seen Brandon as Dylan yet, it’s just merely back-story (for those of you who already knew about that process, I apologize for going through it).  We actually have an awesome picture of Brandon as Dylan that has been approved by all of that…and promised to an Italian publication.  We thought it only right that the Italians were the ones that published the first picture of Dylan in costume.  We gave that to them weeks ago and they have yet to run it.  The best I could do in the meantime is an iPhone photo at 3am.  I’m working on it, though.  We all are.  This publication is actually being quite great about it and are putting together a huge article about the movie, it’s just taking time.

In the meantime, you’ve got me and my fun lessons of the day.  Like:

1)  200 extras in one room all day in New Orleans equals a strong…aroma.

2)  I have more morals than I ever gave myself credit for.  For example, when an pretty young extra walks up to me and says, “Hi, I want to be famous, can you help?” my response is to tell her I cannot help her be famous and then spend the next 20 minutes lecturing her about how much trouble a question like that can get her into.

3)  Taye Diggs is one cool guy.  Nice, personable and very, very easy to work with.  There’s so few of us around like that.  :-)

-Dan Forcey

Development Exec/Stuntguy/STTA (Slightly Taller Than Average)

37 Responses to “A Brief Explanation…”

  1. If you have already made this information available, I apologize in advance for asking this questions which has probably been asked too many times.

    *ahhem*

    WHY oh WHY is DyD in New Orleans?

    I MUST have an answer (:I

  2. Whoa! You hang with Taye?

  3. deadofnightmovie Says:

    We do not “hang” and I didn’t mean to imply that. He’s an actor in the film and I got to work on a scene with him yesterday and he was a very, very cool guy to work with.

  4. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Then you MUST see the movie, Bloch. It explains it there.

  5. Stargazer Says:

    “We actually have an awesome picture of Brandon as Dylan that has been approved by all of that…and promised to an Italian publication… This publication is actually being quite great about it and are putting together a huge article about the movie, it’s just taking time.”

    I can’t wait to read the article and to see that awesome picture of Brandon! Oh, wait, I don’t read Italian. :(

    Any way, thank you Dan for all the updates and for taking your time to talk to us. You know, you’re really good at this. :)

  6. AHA! So the vampires DO wear makeup and aren’t just actors with fake teeth. So you can say in an article, but you can’t in the messages, DONM? lol

  7. Dan, since you mentioned 200 extras, here is an interview with one guy who says he was there (youtube). Not sure if you have seen but ill post anyway (from IHUB). Is there really 171 vampire chicks. Some security guard from IMDb says yes- in the comments section. Sounds like awesome filming being done. If you cant say, dont worry. I plan on seeing the movie anyway.

  8. yo!dude!i understand you,don’t get pissed up upon every critical different point of view about your project..remeber what i said about italy and how much we love dylan dog…just try to keep it the realest possible..cause we’re italians..and if anything goes wrong you can find a dead horse’s head in your bed..just joking!!!

  9. So I know exactly what you mean about the aroma. A few females there had quite a bit of underarm hair and yes, they were putting off -quite- an aroma. (as were we all I’m sure!) >.< I suppose we got stinky because of all the reallllly hot lights and dancing.

  10. Girl with Eyes Says:

    Hey! I was part of the “aroma” yesterday. And, yes, I agree it was a terrible odor. But then again, we appreciated the AC on the second day!

  11. deadofnightmovie Says:

    And I’m sure I was no better, Brooke. Part of the glamor of Hollywood, I guess. :-)

  12. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I’m officially scared, Ilcile. But it’s more motivation than ever to make a really great movie, so thanks!!!

  13. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Yeah, I saw that vlog post, Jake. I wish I was on a set where I was eating steak. ;-) He seems like a really nice and eager guy, as have all the local folks on the set. It’s actually been an incredibly warming city and not at all what I expected, in a good way.

  14. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Well, I just said “makeup”. That could mean as simple as lip gloss, really. Or it could be full prosthetic pieces. You’ll have to wait and see…

  15. deadofnightmovie Says:

    Thank you very much for that, Stargazer. That’s very kind of you. I’m just a regular guy trying to do my best reporting of the set from my limited POV. Glad some folks are enjoying it, though.

  16. ok deadofnightmovie,

    since you are being oh so stingy with details, can you at least tell us if you are going for an R rating?

    it seems to me if you want to stick to the source material, you have no choice! :)

  17. deadofnightmovie Says:

    We’ve actually made a very conscious decision to not think about the rating. Kevin very early on wanted to make the movie how it should be made and let the MPAA decide where to put it. There is definitely a “Dylan Level” of splatter, though, if that’s what you’re really looking for.

  18. AntoBlueberry Says:

    The name of the Italian magazine?
    Ciak or “Tv Sorrisi e Canzoni”?

  19. @deadofnightmovie

    Understandable in regards to the photo process. First impressions are everything.

    I guess I’ll just have to be content with releasing the 2nd photo of Brandon as Dylan Dog.

    :heh:

  20. i enjoy a little splatter, but that is by no means what i am expecting of this movie. Kevin’s approach seems interesting; it seems as though a great percentage of movies today are created with the express intent of becoming accessible to the teenage masses via the PG-13 rating.

    This of course is very counter-productive. i remember as a youth it was a challenge to see an R rated movie.

  21. Yeah, how is Kevin doing so far as a director? I hope well. If I recall correctly, this is his first live-action film.

  22. has Brandon been working on his british accent?

  23. Ivica Serdarot Says:

    Oh, and by the way, what about Xabaras? Is he mentioned anywhere in the film? :)

  24. Yeah, what about Xabaras? :)

  25. Taye Diggs is in as well? awww, very cool.
    Can’t wait to see the first photo. I always feel sorry for actors who carry such a weight on their shoulders; portraying such a loved character…I hope we’re not adding extra pressure, haha. ^_^

  26. RouthFan1 Says:

    I am not very knowledgable about the character but find it an interesting one, the more I’ve read about him and the setting, the more I’m curious. I understand that filming has not been taking place long, but from what I’ve followed it’s very exciting and will eagerly await seeing the film.

    By the way, your info about the process of how photographs have to go through a selection before ANY get released is something I had never thought of. Film making is so far from any world I belong to and I guess business is business, no matter what. Too bad I’m fairly impatient for some pics from the set with the actors!

  27. deadofnightmovie Says:

    You guys are just going to have to wait and see on that one.

  28. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I keep trying to twist his arm into doing something on here for us, so I’ll let you ask him directly when he does. IMHO, you wouldn’t know that he’s a first time live-action director. He acts like he’s been doing it for ages.

  29. deadofnightmovie Says:

    And I think the R barrier is really breaking down in studio people’s eyes, Bloch. Movies like 300 have definitely shown that R-rated comic adaptations can be very successful.

  30. deadofnightmovie Says:

    I can’t say yet, Anto. You’ll see it soon, though.

  31. slushpuppy Says:

    I looked for a while, but I can’t find any info on an approximate release date for this film. Any ideas?

  32. Vgerland Says:

    About the British Accent I can see where old time followers would be concerned. Personally I can live with his being British or Americaized. Just give us a good story, good acting and good effects and the other details will fall by the wayside for all but a very few.

  33. Ivica Serdarot Says:

    I just published a short summary article of Dan’s comments on my blog at http://dansemacabreradio.blogspot.com/ I reckon it’s a fair representation of what has been said so far. Feel free to yell if there’s anything you think I’ve misrepresented.

  34. Slushpuppy, See the last money TV episode. Brian Altounian, COO at Platinum Studios gave the answer. There is always talk about Dylan and other movies on these shows. 4th/final interview after the ads. But as you know, timelines change, but this is the latest info.

    Over seas by end of this year, others beginning in 2010. Tells me they are very far along.

    http://www.emergingcompany.com/volume13week16qt.mov

  35. Dan, When will we see the official movie poster/ website of Dylan Dog. You have one for Witchblade (teaser poster) and Madalena (just a postor with actors on it) but not Dyaln and this movie is way farther along then those others.

  36. deadofnightmovie Says:

    It’s being worked on right now, Boogy, and it is bee-uuu-tee-ful.

  37. Stargazer Says:

    “It’s being worked on right now, Boogy, and it is bee-uuu-tee-ful ( the Dylan Dog poster)”

    Great! I can’t wait! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

